OpenAccelerator Logo

Open Accelerator

Registry for Accelerated Computing - Sharing Accelerated Computing Information on a Global Scale

OpenFPGA medium swirl Interested in OpenFPGA membership?
Renew Support OpenFPGA with a membership payment
Frequently asked questions
Jump To OpenFPGA


The 2012 OpenFPGA Award
Advancing Reconfigurable Computing Standards


The annual OpenFPGA award recognizes efforts that advances the aim to improve standards and interoperability in reconfigurable computing. First awarded in 2008 as part of the High Performance Reconfigurable Computing Technologies and Applications Workshop, this award continues to recognize and give visibility to key efforts making it increasingly possible to utilize standards in developing applications involving reconfigurable technologies.

This year, the award expands and goes global, opening for nominations from the international community to recognize efforts occurring worldwide in this key area!

Nominate An Advancement Today!

In addition to global recognition by the reconfigurable computing community, award winners will receive one-year memberships in OpenFPGA and an honorarium of up to $500 US dollars.

Eligibility Requirements

Each nomination must include the following summary information:

Nomination information should be sent to before March 31, 2012.

Inquiries should be directed to

Nominations will close March 31, 2012.

Review of nominations will be completed by OpenFPGA board members and their designates.

Announcement of winner anticipated on or before July 2012.

Previous Award Winners

2010 - Investigating Resilient High Performance Reconfigurable Computing with Minimally-Invasive System Monitoring. Bin Huang, Andrew Schmidt, Ashwin Mendon and Ron Sass (University of North Carolina Charlotte)

2009 - Bridging Parallel and Reconfigurable Computing with Multilevel PGAS and SHMEM+, V. Aggarwal, A. George, K. Yalamanchili, C. Yoon, H. Lam, G. Stitt (University of Florida)

2008 - MPI as an Abstraction for Software-Hardware interaction in HPRCs. Manuel Saldaņa, Arun Patel, Christopher Madill, Daniel Nunes, DanyaoWang, Henry Styles, Andrew Putnam, and Paul Chow. Ralph Wittig (University of Toronto, Xilinx)

Necessary Disclaimers: All decisions of the OpenFPGA board are final. OpenFPGA reserves the right to amend the rules of the award at any time. OpenFPGA assumes no liability for any potential damages as a result of the award submission and evaluation process. OpenFPGA reserves the right to limit the quantity and value of any award. OpenFPGA reserves the right to cancel the award at any time. OpenFPGA reserves the right to determine eligibility of any nomination. Award void where legally restricted or prohibited.

OpenFPGA recognizes these members for their active support